pilots in dress uniforms Mule Rearing African American Officers gas masks African American Soldiers 1 Riveters doughboys with mules The pilots

Alabama Centennial Blog

Alabama WWI Centennial Committee Established

August 10, 2016

Q0000049055On March 29, 2016, the Alabama Department of Archives and History hosted the first meeting of the Alabama World War I Centennial Committee. The centennial period begins on April 6, 2017, one hundred years after the U.S. entered the war, and extends through Armistice Day, November 11, 2018. The committee is co-chaired by Steve Murray, director of the Alabama Department of Archives and History, and Maj. Gen. Perry G. Smith, adjutant general of the Alabama National Guard. Nimrod T. Frazer, author of Send the Alabamians, was named honorary chairman.

Comprised of more than thirty scholars and military, government, and community leaders, the committee is tasked with planning and implementing commemorative programs, educational events, and initiatives throughout the state during the centennial period.

The group will work closely with the United States World War One Centennial Commission to ensure that the experiences and sacrifices of Alabamians during the Great War are remembered. In attendance was U.S. Commissioner Monique Seefried. She remarked, “As a U.S. World War One Centennial Commissioner, I am proud that Alabama has taken this important first step towards honoring the Alabamians who sacrificed greatly in service to their country nearly a century ago.”

Programs of the Committee may include developing a comprehensive list of WWI monuments throughout the state, public programs, lectures, symposiums in partnership with scholars and educational institutions, and the development of publications.

For additional information about the Committee, contact Archives Curator of Public Programs, Amy Williamson at (334) 353-4689 or [email protected]


Alabama WWI Commission Logo


Georgia Ann Hudson
[email protected]
(334) 353-3312


  • Steve Murray, Director, Alabama Department of Archives and History
  • Maj. Gen. Sheryl E. Gordon, Adjutant General, Alabama National Guard

Honorary Chairman

  • Nimrod T. Frazer, Montgomery 

U.S. Commission Liaison

  • Monique Seefried, Atlanta

Committee Members

  • Greg Akers, Montgomery

  • Leah Rawls Atkins, Birmingham

  • Jim Baggett, Birmingham

  • Mike Bailey, Gulf Shores

  • Donna Baker, Tuscaloosa

  • Randy Bartlett, Auburn

  • Ken Bedsole, Abbeville

  • David Black, Florence

  • Berta Blackwell, Ozark 

  • Young Boozer, Montgomery

  • Borden Burr, Birmingham

  • Lt. Gen. Charles G. Cleveland, Montgomery 

  • Patrice Donnelly, Birmingham

  • Lydia R. Ellington-Joffray, Tuscaloosa

  • Stuart Foss, Birmingham

  • Gary Fuller, Opelika

  • Gen. Walter Givhan, Troy

  • Col. Joe Greene, Montgomery

  • Jan Gunter, Opelika

  • Laura Newland Hill, Auburn

  • Jeff Jakeman, Auburn

  • Gerald Johnson, Butler County

  • Tina Jones, Livingston

  • Mary Jones-Fitts, Faunsdale

  • Mortimer Jordan, Tuscaloosa

  • Jay Lamar, Montgomery

  • Ashley D. Ledbetter, Montgomery

  • Sebastian Lukasik, Montgomery

  • Clark Lundell, Auburn

  • Jo Screws McGowin, Montgomery

  • Shea McClean, Mobile

  • T.C. McLemore, Birmingham

  • Joel Mize, Tuscumbia

  • Darryn Moten, Montgomery

  • Graham Neeley, Montgomery

  • Glenn Nivens, Harpersville

  • Lt. Col. Larry Norred, Bessemer

  • Marty Olliff, Dothan

  • Michael Panhorst, Montgomery

  • Melvina Phillips, New Hope

  • Rob Riser, Livingston

  • John A. Screws, Birmingham

  • Betsy Simmons, Birmingham

  • Steve Trout, Mobile

  • Ruth Truss, Montevallo

  • David Tuck, Rockford

  • Ted Urquhart, Mary Esther, FL

  • Tom Walker, Montevallo

  • Johnny Waller, Montgomery

  • Mike Watson, Montgomery

  • Phil Williams, Gadsden

  • Mark Wilson, Auburn

"Pershing" Donors

$5 Million +

Founding Sponsor
PritzkerMML Logo

Starr Foundation Logo

The Lilly Endowment