Emile Ladnier WW I Memorial

Emile Ladnier WW I  Memorial loupe
1600 Government St
Ocean Springs

Emile Ladnier WWI Memorial

100 Cities / 100 Memorials Awardee

100c 100m wwi centennial plaque

The important thing to remember about Pershing Square is you don’t have to be a Congressional Medal of Honor recipient, Silver Star, Purple Heart, Bronze Star Medal, French Legion of Honor recipient, a survivor of the Bataan death march in WW II or to have served overseas or be from Ocean Springs although all of these Honored Veterans are represented in PERSHING SQUARE.

Scores of the bricks honor Ocean Springs residents and family members who served including the fifteen original charter members of World War I Emile Ladnier American Legion Post 42 dated December 19, 1919 to include : H. Powell, Joseph C. Chaillot, R. Englaith, Oscar T. Davis, William L, Chaillot, Deo F. Bertuccini, Thomas Murphy , Van Cleave Reid, S. Chester Davis, Floyd Howell , James T. Ryan , Louis S. Tardy, L. Westbrook, Narcisse Dick and W.M. Abraham.

Among the last bricks to be placed in Pershing Square were in memory of USMC MSGT John E. Hayes killed in action 8 July 2009 and GYSGT Jon W. Gifford killed in action 29 July 2012 both in Afghanistan.