doughboys with mules gas masks African American Officers pilots in dress uniforms African American Soldiers 1 Mule Rearing Riveters The pilots

Atlanta Commemoration of Europe Day 2016

May 9, 2016

Dr. Seefried speaks in front of an audience

     Diplomatic representatives in Atlanta from France, Germany, Great Britain, Austria, Slovenia and elsewhere across Europe were joined by an audience of interested patrons to observe the anniversary of the founding of the European Union.  The event was at the joint French and German consul facilities in Atlanta’s Colony Square, the Alliance Francaise and the Goethe-Zentrum.  Dr. Monique Seefried of Atlanta, a member of the U.S. World War I Centennial Commission and an ex-officio member of the Georgia World War I Centennial Commission, spoke on “Why is the centennial of World War I relevant for understanding Europe today?”  Introductory remarks were given by the Honorable Denis Barbet, Consul General of France, and Dr. Vicki Birchfield, co-director of the Center for European and Transatlantic Studies at the Georgia Institute of Technology. 

Atlanta Commemoration of Europe Day 2016


Georgia World War I Centennial Commission Donors

vfw logo

Delta Logo

Gulfstream Logo

Georgia Power

John H. and Wilhelmina D. Harland Foundation, Inc.

Numerous generous individuals


Georgia World War I Centennial Commission

Contact: [email protected]

Commission Members

  • Mr. Scott Delius, Atlanta
  • Mr. Rick Elder, Sylvania
  • Mr. Samuel Friedman, Atlanta
  • Mr. Thomas Lacy, Peachtree City (vice-chair)
  • Dr. John Morrow, Athens
  • Dr. Billy Wells, Dahlonega (Chair)

Executive Director:

Dr. Thomas H. Jackson, Jr., University System of Georgia

Federal Commissioner for Georgia

Dr. Monique Seefried, Atlanta

Commission Associates

  • Dr. Lamar Veatch, University of North Georgia
  • Mr. Keith Antonia, University of North Georgia


Next Meeting:

Date to be determined

Future Meetings:

None schedule at this time.

"Pershing" Donors

$5 Million +

Founding Sponsor
PritzkerMML Logo

Starr Foundation Logo

The Lilly Endowment