African American Officers pilots in dress uniforms gas masks doughboys with mules Mule Rearing African American Soldiers 1 Riveters The pilots

Monuments, Memorials & Historic Sites

Map Navigation Instructions:

  • Please use the + and - buttons in the map to zoom into your area of interest
  • Click on icons to see more about each location
  • Scroll down to explore the locations as a list




Whitfield Co. -- Veterans Memorial Monumentloupe
at the old Post Office on Hamilton Street
Photos courtesy of Lamar Veatch
Wilcox County - Abbeville - Veterans Memorial	loupe
Wilcox County Courthouse 103 North Broad Street
Photos courtesy of Lamar Veatch

Plaza on Courthouse grounds containing containing granite stones to the different wars.

Inscription: The central monolith is inscribed “Dedicated to all Wilcox Countians who served our country and in memory of those who paid the supreme sacrifice. They died that others may live free. Erected year 2001. Americans of Wilcox County.”

The granite stone for World War I is inscribed with thirteen names.

Wilkinson Co. - Irwinton - All Wars Monument and Perpetual Flameloupe
100 Bacon St.

"In honor of the Citizens of Wilkinson County who served the Military Forces of our county, state and nation from the Revolution War to present and those who may serve in the future”

Worth Co. - Sylvester - Courthouse Memorialloupe
Worth County Courthouse North Main Street and East Kelly Street
Photos courtesy of Lamar Veatch

On the exterior courthouse entrance is an aluminum memorial plaque that is embossed with the names of those that died from this county - War Between the States, World War I, World War II, Korea, and Vietnam.

Also, on the grounds of this courthouse is a memorial obelisk to all wars.
Inscription: “In honor and memory of those from Worth County who sacrificed their lives , those missing in action, and those who served in defense of their country.” Dedicated May 27, 1989.”

Wrens — Jefferson Co. — Veterans Memorialloupe
Towns Square
Photos courtesy of Lamar Veatch

Georgia World War I Centennial Commission Donors

vfw logo

Delta Logo

Gulfstream Logo

Georgia Power

John H. and Wilhelmina D. Harland Foundation, Inc.

Numerous generous individuals


Georgia World War I Centennial Commission

Contact: [email protected]

Commission Members

  • Mr. Scott Delius, Atlanta
  • Mr. Rick Elder, Sylvania
  • Mr. Samuel Friedman, Atlanta
  • Mr. Thomas Lacy, Peachtree City (vice-chair)
  • Dr. John Morrow, Athens
  • Dr. Billy Wells, Dahlonega (Chair)

Executive Director:

Dr. Thomas H. Jackson, Jr., University System of Georgia

Federal Commissioner for Georgia

Dr. Monique Seefried, Atlanta

Commission Associates

  • Dr. Lamar Veatch, University of North Georgia
  • Mr. Keith Antonia, University of North Georgia


Next Meeting:

Date to be determined

Future Meetings:

None schedule at this time.

"Pershing" Donors

$5 Million +

Founding Sponsor
PritzkerMML Logo

Starr Foundation Logo

The Lilly Endowment